Mitcham Girls High School

Assessment & Reporting

Reporting requirements

Mitcham Girls HS is required by the department to provide a minimum of 2 written reports each year. These are to use the A to E achievement scale according to achievement aligned with the Australian Curriculum and the SACE. 

The following reports will be completed in 2021: 
Term 1 – Progress report 
Term 2 – End of Semester report 
Term 4 – End of Year report 

From Term 1, 2021, we will no longer print reports unless these are requested by parents to the Admin team. 

Reports will be released as pdf documents via our Learner Management System - Daymap. Please ensure that you have access to Daymap in order to access the reports in a timely manner. Contact our office if you need assistance in logging into Daymap.  

An overview of Reporting and Assessment

Reporting and Assessment for Years 7 to 10

A to E grades enable the reporting of achievement against each Australian Curriculum achievement standard at a range of achievement from minimal to excellent. 

The following identifies word equivalents for A to E grades for use in department schools: 
A: your child is demonstrating excellent achievement of what is expected at this year level 
B: your child is demonstrating good achievement of what is expected at this year level 
C: your child is demonstrating satisfactory achievement of what is expected at this year level 
D: your child is demonstrating partial achievement of what is expected at this year level 
E: your child is demonstrating minimal achievement of what is expected at this year level 

Reporting on student achievement against Australian Curriculum achievement standards requires teachers to make a holistic on-balance judgement using a range of learning evidence. Teachers then assign an A to E grade or word equivalent based on the aspects of the achievement standard addressed in the learning program to that point in the reporting cycle. 


Teachers will need to adjust the curriculum for some students, including for students with learning plans. This includes students who are not verified under the education disability criteria but still need the curriculum adjusted. Learning plans are plans developed to document the needs of particular students. This includes the One Plan. 
In such cases, schools negotiate and document both the student’s learning program and appropriate reporting arrangements with the student and their parents or carers.

 Reporting and Assessment for Stage 1 and 2 SACE Curriculum

To report the final subject grades at Stage 1, the SACE Board requires the use of grades from A to E. At Stage 2, the Board requires grade levels from A+ to E−. The subject grades for both stages are based on the performance standards described in each subject outline. 

Descriptions of each grade level are included in each subject outline and are called ‘performance standards’. The performance standards describe five levels of achievement, A to E. Teachers and assessors use the performance standards to decide how well a student has demonstrated his or her learning. Each grade corresponds to a level of the performance standards for each individual subject. 
If you have any further questions about assessment and reporting of your child’s achievement, please contact the subject teacher or faculty leader in the first instance.  

Latest News

2021 Oliphant Science Awards

Details of our student successes at the 2021 Oliphant Science Awards.

Week 1 Parent Update

An introductory notice to start Term 4.

Dance Performance Dates - Term 4

Early notice regarding dates of Dance Performances in Term 4.

SA Stage Dancing Competition Results

Congratulating students who participated in the SA Stage Dancing Competition.

Change to 970 School Bus Route

Details of the 970 School Bus' change of route.

See more