Year 8

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Year 8 Curriculum

Students in Year 8 study subjects from the Australian Curriculum. They need to complete 14 units of study across the year. This equates to 7 units per semester (one semester equals two school terms).

The compulsory areas of study are: The Arts; Design and Technologies; Digital Technologies; English or English as an Additional Language (EAL); Health and Physical Education; Humanities; or GifT Dance (audition only); Languages; Mathematics; Science.

Studying GifT Dance requires an audition and replaces Health and Physical Education.

Students who learn an instrument through the school are expected to study Music for a minimum of one semester.

Choice Subjects Units
Dance 1
GifT Dance (audition only) 2
Drama 1
Music 1
Visual Arts 1
Total Units 14